Currently. (Vol.1)

Laughing about: The other day, I was asleep when Kevin came up to bed and I guess I rolled over to feel his face (with both hands). Then when I was satisfied it was him I guess, I rolled back over to my side. How weird! He told me about it in the morning, and when I said, “what did you say/do when I did that?” He said, “nothing…I just let you do it.” How does he have the patience for things like that?! I would have woke him up if he’d done that to me LOL. I’m laughing right now thinking about this. It’s just so weird.

Feeling: Much less exhausted than the last few weeks. I was worried I maybe have mono (I had it six years ago), but the doctor and I have chalked up my recent exhaustion to post-surgery and the soft-diet. This week has been a good one though so I’m definitely on the up-swing!

IMG_1851

Eating: Since I’m on a soft diet for a total of three months because of the jaw surgery, I’m limited with what I can currently eat. I’ve found a few things and eat them basically every day until I’m sick of them, because finding things I CAN eat is really hard to do. I was recently obsessed with mashed potatoes and gravy. My mom saved me from starving right after the surgery by bringing over boxes of instant potatoes. I always thought the idea of them were gross so had never tried them. But [surprisingly] I have learned that they are delicious, quick and fill me up. And above all, I find them kind of magical and am still impressed [each time] by how a powder can turn into a mashed potato. All in five minutes! Paired with gravy, they are extra amazing. I have literally had just these potatoes for lunch and/or dinner. Also, grilled cheese sandwiches (no crust as per doc’s orders). And dairy milk chocolate bars that I have to suck on since I can’t bite into them. Clearly, I am eating very healthy these days.

Listening to: The radio and getting sick of it. Our Sirius XM Radio ran out a couple months ago and I thought I could go back to normal radio but I think I am “siriusly” spoiled now [see what I did there?!] and am so close to calling them up to re-instate it. I’m also getting annoyed with this new Google Play which took over for Songza. Way too many commercials! I hate that Songza sold out to Google. They were awesome. And had no commercials.

Reading: “See Me” by Nicholas Spark. I was on a Nicholas Spark marathon when Kevin and I first moved in together and had to stop reading them because each book made me cry. And that’s a really difficult thing for a book to do. Kevin suggested I lay off the Sparks’ train for a while LOL. Why does someone always have to die in his books though?

Watching: Barely watched any TV for the last few years and ever since I have to now do a 15 minute exercise EVERY SINGLE WAKING HOUR, I have watched hours worth per day! So much so, that I have had worry about when a series ends – “what am I going to do/watch now?” So, first it was “The Mindy Project,” which I thought could never be replaced by another show. After I caught up on all of the seasons on Netflix, I needed to find a new show though, so here enters “Orange is the New Black.” Currently on the very last episode of season three, and taking suggestions for my next show to watch…I’ve heard “Friday Night Lights” is good, so it may be that. It will be interesting if I still watch TV after this recover period is over. I never had time for it before, but maybe that’s why it’s now taking me weeks to finish a book rather than days!

Planning: A weekend getaway to the Muskokas in the summer. This jaw surgery has cost us a lot of money, and we were hoping to get a hot tub by the summer. Now, we are hoping for the fall, so to make that dream a reality, we are sticking close to home this summer…as much as we would love to go to Boston. Or Vegas. I told Kevin the other day that “Vegas misses me,” since I haven’t been there in three years, after I had been there four years in a row. I don’t think he sympathized much with me though LOL.

IMG_1857.PNG

Learning: How to manage my stress better, as explained here. It’s really hard! Slowly getting back into doing some yoga, and I recently found a short meditation video on YouTube that I have saved to try one night that I don’t do yoga.

goodbye-for-now-blog

3 thoughts on “Currently. (Vol.1)

  1. Okay that plate of mashed potatoes and grilled cheese actually looks AMAZING!! I haven’t had a grilled cheese in forever. I kind of forgot it was a thing. Now I feel like I need one lol. And I laughed about the sirius thing. We got the 6 month trial period thing a few years ago when we got a new car….and have had it ever since lol. In both cars now. We cannot live without it. I never deal with them, but my husband is really good and every time we have to renew it he somehow gets it for like $20 for another six months. I don’t know what he says, but they definitely are negotiable. Just saying! And glad you’re feeling better. A little! I’ve been a horrible blog commenter and reader lately so I’m sorry I’m just getting around to this now. This whole surgery thing sounds….not fun, lol. And how scary that it’s from stress?!!? I stress a lot too and it’s hard to turn it off. Mostly it’s over nothing…which is really annoying lol. TAKE GOOD CARE Of YOURSELF!!! xo

    Like

    • I’ve heard they are able to negotiate, too. Maybe I should just call and see what I can get. I’d do it for $20 for sure! Commercials drive me crazy now that I’m not used to them!

      No need to apologize about commenting, I’ve been slacking, too. So happy for you re: your new fitness venture as well as the move back to Texas. I hope you’re much happier there! And yes, learn from me: work at reducing your stress. You don’t want to go through what I currently am! Thanks for your comment!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Life. Currently. (Vol.5) | Sarah Says

Leave a Reply

