Life. Lately. (Vol. 5)

Life’s been super busy lately. So busy that I haven’t had a chance to blog about the out-of-this-world experience of seeing my Johnny (last name Reid, for those of you who don’t know who I’m talking about lol) up close and personal last weekend:

It was the best concert I have seen with him present. A small, outdoor venue that everyone brought their own chairs too and could sit wherever. Everybody got great seats as not too many people were there; I don’t know why as it was a beautiful night. I went with my cousin (another diehard fan), her husband and even Kenz was there. We were so close that we could have touched him. But I freaked out at the last second as people were squeezing in on me and thought, you know what, I don’t have to touch Johnny right now LOL. But I was on a high the rest of the night. And all week, I’ve been listening to Johnny in my car. This was the first time Kevin has seen Johnny and even he admitted that “he’s a great performer.” He even said he’d come again with me! Maybe next time he would sing “Dance With Me” (our wedding song). That would be the icing on an already delicious cake, LOL.

Another reason why I have not been blogging much lately is because I’ve been swamped doing writing jobs that pay! I started writing website articles for a company in early summer when my hours at my regular day job had been cut, but have been staying just as busy with it now (and my regular day job has picked back up again). I never know what I’m going to be sent, and companies I have wrote have ranged from: a bed bug removal company, an online learning school, an international trucking company, a local Italian restaurant, an ob/gyn clinic in Ohio, a law firm in Vancouver, etc. I’ve been learning a bunch of random facts on a wide variety of topics from writing these articles. I was fascinated by the latest article (the ob/gyn clinic) and was telling Kevin everything that I learned HAHA. He was clearly not that interested LOL. If you ever have bed bugs, you now know who knows a bunch of random facts about those suckers. Such as the fact that they can survive for up to ONE YEAR after biting you and getting a little bit of blood. They just go dormant and hang out in a crack somewhere. YUCK!

Plus, add in the new regular, part time job that I told you about and I’m already busy with ‘regular’ work. I’ve also been busy with my side business of resume writing and crafting. Random, I know, LOL… I do a little bit of everything! Resume writing has been non-existent all summer and then BAM I get two resume requests within 24 hours earlier this week. I guess people are starting to think about switching jobs now that summer is over. My crafting business has also been keeping me hopping. Fall wreath orders are coming in, and my cake toppers are still selling quickly. I just sold one today to a girl in Ottawa, but she has a friend in my town who will pick it up and deliver it to her! Crazy, eh? It’s all so exciting, too!

I have a hard time saying “no” to money-making opportunities (clearly), so it’s heartbreaking (but amazing at the same time) that I am having to turn down a new writing job that I just got offered. I had contacted the firm a couple months ago, but they never got back to me until just this week and told me they were really pleased with my writing samples (so of course I had to tell my mom right away, just like I am 10 years old again and got a good score on a test LOL)! And now I feel like if I take that on, I will become a crazy person because that would be TOO MUCH. And, as explained here, I promised myself that I would slowing down and trying to de-stress a bit more.

Which leads me to my next piece of news: I can now hang my head upside down for a short period of time in yoga. This may not seem like a big deal to you, but I have not been able to put my head down AT ALL since the jaw surgery. The pressure of doing so always bothered my jaw more. However, my massage therapist was showing me a new stretch last week and it involved putting my head down.  I was shocked to tell her after that it did not bother my jaw at all (as long as I did it for not too long)! So it’s the small things, people, that make me realize I am slowly getting there after that horrible surgery. I also got to experience my first “crunch” last week since April – I ate a soft piece of pepper and cucumber. It was amazing. I am still on a very careful eating regiment until NEXT April (that’s right, one whole year of not eating lettuce/bagels/steak/pork chops, etc), but I am slowly introducing new things back into my diet so it’s much easier to deal with!

Hmmmm what else is new? Kenz thought I was looney tunes for saying I needed to take a good whiff of Staples after we went there Friday night. I just love that Back to School smell! I needed a new agenda and a carrying case to take to my new job as it involves working at home, too – so I needed something that looks profesional, but can travel. I am so happy with what we chose – Kenz actually picked out both things. He has great taste. Saturday morning, I finished cleaning the insides and outsides of my kitchen cupboards with Murphy’s Oil, another smell I love. Kevin again thought I was weird to say I love that smell.

Well, that’s all for now. I will leave you with a picture of me from last night, getting out of the bath:
IMG_2402
Have a great long weekend!
goodbye-for-now-blog
4 thoughts on “Life. Lately. (Vol. 5)

  1. You’re just too funny…glad to hear the smile in your words again.
    Busy , busy, busy,,,,,,,,I guess we won’t get lunch in again until maybe December.
    Anyway you too have a good Labour Day weekend….and remember Monday is a holiday for all you hard workers out there.
    Enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

